Home › Guides › Bwindi Lodges: Where to Stay for Gorilla Trekking in Uganda
Bwindi Lodges: Where to Stay for Gorilla Trekking in Uganda
Bwindi lodges sit in four trekking sectors, and the right one for you is the one closest to the briefing point named on your permit. A Uganda gorilla permit costs $800 per person, so choosing a lodge in the wrong sector can cost you hours on a rough road before an early start.
Quick answer The short answer on where to stay in Bwindi
A Uganda gorilla permit costs $800 per person and names one sector, so your lodge must sit in or near that sector. Buhoma has the most lodges and the only ones inside the park boundary, while Nkuringo has few beds and little at the budget end.
Key takeaways
- Permit prices and booking rules on our gorilla trekking permit guide
- How the two parks compare on rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking
- Sector and terrain detail in our Bwindi Impenetrable National Park guide
- Full trip maths in how much does gorilla trekking cost
Should I book the permit or the lodge first?
Book the permit first, then pick the lodge, because permits run out before rooms do in busy months.
This is the decision order most travellers get wrong. The permit fixes your sector. The lodge only makes sense once you know it.
The permit-first decision
Your gorilla permit is issued for one sector of Bwindi and treks start from that sector's briefing point at around 7:30 or 8:00 in the morning. Choose the lodge second, within a short walk or a 20 minute drive of that briefing point. The permit price differs sharply between the two countries.
Uganda charges $800 for a foreign non-resident permit according to the Uganda Wildlife Authority tariff. Rwanda charges $1,500 per person per day for a foreign non-resident according to the Rwanda Development Board booking portal, which is why many trekkers sleep in Uganda and fly or drive in through Kigali. Our gorilla trekking permit guide walks through both booking systems.
| Decision | Rule |
|---|---|
| 1. Permit | Buy first, in busy months it sells out before rooms do |
| 2. Sector | The permit names it, you cannot change on the day |
| 3. Lodge | In or near that sector, close to the briefing point |
| 4. Nights | Two nights either side of trek day is the safe pattern |
Why distance matters so much
Driving Buhoma to Rushaga takes three hours or more and Ruhija to Rushaga is not much quicker. That is a pre-dawn start on mountain roads before a trek that can run 2 to 7 hours. Sleeping in the permit sector removes that risk entirely.
Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Rwanda Development Board.
Which sector should I stay in for gorilla trekking in Bwindi?
Stay in the sector printed on your permit, and choose that sector when you buy the permit based on how you trek.
Bwindi has four sectors. Each has its own character, its own trailheads and its own lodge mix.
The four sectors compared
Buhoma suits first timers and fly in safaris and has the most lodges at the park gate, including the only ones inside the park boundary. Ruhija suits birders. Rushaga has the widest choice of midrange and budget beds.
Nkuringo gives the steepest trek and has few lodges with little at the budget end.
| Sector | Suits | Lodge choice |
|---|---|---|
| Buhoma | First timers, fly in safaris | Most lodges at the gate, some inside the boundary |
| Ruhija | Birders | Good midrange and budget options |
| Rushaga | Trekkers wanting choice | Wide range, shared base with Nkuringo at Rubuguri |
| Nkuringo | Fit trekkers wanting a hard hike | Few lodges, little at the budget end |
How far apart are the Bwindi sectors by road?
Buhoma to Rushaga takes three hours or more by road, Ruhija to Rushaga is not much quicker, and Rushaga and Nkuringo lodges sit 30 to 45 minutes apart.
Bwindi roads are slow mountain tracks. The distances explain why the sector on your permit must match your lodge.
Driving times that matter on trek morning
The one useful exception is Rubuguri, the small town between Rushaga and Nkuringo. Lodges there can serve either sector, so if you are torn between two southern permits, a Rubuguri base hedges your choice.
| Route | Road time |
|---|---|
| Buhoma to Rushaga | 3 hours or more |
| Ruhija to Rushaga | Not much quicker than Buhoma to Rushaga |
| Rushaga to Nkuringo lodges | 30 to 45 minutes |
| Rubuguri lodges to either southern sector | Works for both |
What are the best luxury lodges in Bwindi?
The top listed luxury lodges are Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge, Mahogany Springs, Bwindi Lodge, Buhoma Lodge and Trackers Safari Lodge Bwindi.
Bwindi's luxury tier is small. Most of these names sit in Buhoma, which is where the fly in market concentrates.
Bwindi Lodge, the standard setter
Bwindi Lodge in Buhoma has eight stone and timber glass-fronted bandas facing the forest canopy. Rooms have flushing toilets, a double vanity, hot and cold showers and a private balcony where wildlife including chimpanzees, gorillas and monkeys can be spotted. A family of gorillas visits the lodge regularly.
Activities include rainforest walks, Forest Spa massages, a tea processing tour and a visit to Bwindi Community Hospital. It is the fifth property in the Volcanoes Safaris portfolio and is rated $$$ by Condé Nast Traveler.
The rest of the luxury list
Mahogany Springs and Buhoma Lodge serve the Buhoma gate. Trackers Safari Lodge Bwindi sits in the northern sector. Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge tops the list from the southern sector, useful if your permit names Nkuringo or Rushaga.
What do Bwindi lodges cost?
Published rates vary by tier and most lodges quote per package rather than per room, so compare total trip cost against your $800 permit rather than one nightly rate.
Lodge rates in Bwindi are quoted loosely. The clearest signals come from the tiers, not from nightly figures.
Tiers and how to price them
Bwindi Lodge is rated $$$ by Condé Nast Traveler, the top price tier for Buhoma. Midrange and budget properties, including names like Erebero Hills, Nala Gorilla Camp, Kwetu Safari Lodge and Bwindi Neck View Lodge, quote far less. Because rates change and most lodges sell full board packages, ask each property for a trek-night quote that includes dinner, breakfast and a packed lunch for the trail.
| Tier | Examples | Price signal |
|---|---|---|
| Luxury | Bwindi Lodge, Buhoma Lodge, Mahogany Springs, Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge, Trackers Safari Lodge | Top tier, $$$ rating for Bwindi Lodge |
| Midrange | Erebero Hills, Kwetu Safari Lodge, Bwindi Neck View Lodge | not stated, quote per property |
| Budget and community | Nala Gorilla Camp and community options | not stated, quote per property |
Price the whole trip, not the bed
A three day Uganda trekking package such as 3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda with Dav Safaris costs $2,600 per person, while 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience with Eco Adventure Safaris costs $1,860 per person. Package rates usually bundle the lodge, transport and sometimes the permit, so they can beat booking a luxury lodge room on its own. Our gorilla trekking cost guide breaks the maths down.
Are there Bwindi lodges with a swimming pool?
Pool facilities per lodge are not stated in the published material, so ask each property directly before booking.
A pool matters in Bwindi. Treks run 2 to 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation, and after a wet forest morning a warm swim is the recovery many travellers want.
What the traveller should do
Rainforest lodges rarely lead with pools in their descriptions, and published listings for the main Bwindi properties do not state pool facilities. Email the lodge or your operator and ask two questions: is the pool heated, and is it open in the wet season months of March to May, which are the wettest of the year. Combine the answer with the season advice in best time to visit Uganda and the month by month detail in Uganda weather.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Can I stay at Lake Bunyonyi or Lake Mutanda for my trek?
Yes for some sectors, but only if your permit sector is a short morning drive away, because briefing starts around 7:30 or 8:00 in the morning.
The lakes around Bwindi are beautiful bases, but the permit sector decides whether they are practical.
Lake Mutanda and Kisoro for the south
Lake Mutanda and Kisoro serve Rushaga and Nkuringo trekkers. Kisoro is a working town with the widest spread of beds, and lakeside lodges add canoe mornings and volcano views. Check the drive to your briefing point the night before.
Rushaga and Nkuringo lodges are 30 to 45 minutes apart, and Rubuguri sits between them, so a southern base can work for either sector.
Lake Bunyonyi for decompression
Lake Bunyonyi works best as a post-trek stop rather than a trek morning base, given the road times between it and the park gates. Many itineraries sleep near the trailhead before the trek, then reward themselves at the lake after. If you fly into Kigali instead of Entebbe, the drive from Rwanda to the southern sectors changes the logic, as our Bwindi gorilla trekking from Kigali page explains.
Tours That Fit
Packages that already sort out the Bwindi lodge and the trek logistics for you.
3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
Private three day Uganda gorilla safari with the permit, two nights lodging, meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride for $2600 per person.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dav Safaris
3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience
A private 3 day Uganda gorilla trek with a Batwa cultural experience, permit of $800 included in the $1860 price, from Entebbe or Kampala.
- Cancellation
- Full refund 6 days ahead, 50% between 2 and 6 days, no refund within 2 days
- Operator
- Eco Adventure Safaris
Which Bwindi lodge suits my kind of trip?
Match the lodge to the traveller: Buhoma for first timers and fly in trips, Ruhija for birders, Rushaga for choice, Nkuringo for fit hikers.
Once the sector is fixed by your permit, the remaining choice is which property fits how you travel.
Lodges by traveller type
First timers and anyone flying into Uganda should look at Buhoma first, because it has the most lodges at the park gate and the only ones inside the boundary, which shortens the walk to the trailhead. Birders should target Ruhija, where the forest walks before and after the trek double as birding. Trekkers who want the steepest hike should accept Nkuringo's thin lodge list.
Budget and community minded travellers find their widest choice around Rushaga.
| Traveller | Sector | What to look for |
|---|---|---|
| First timer, fly in | Buhoma | Lodge at or inside the gate |
| Birder | Ruhija | Forest-edge property with walking access |
| Choice seeker | Rushaga | Widest range of tiers and prices |
| Fit hiker | Nkuringo | Lodge near the trailhead, book early, few beds |
How do I get to my Bwindi lodge and when should I arrive?
Arrive the day before your trek, because briefing at your sector starts around 7:30 or 8:00 in the morning and treks run 2 to 7 hours.
Getting there is the last practical question, and the answer shapes how many nights you book.
Nights and arrival
Book at least the night before trek day. Treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation, so a lodge within a short walk or 20 minute drive of the briefing point lets you eat a proper breakfast and walk to registration. The wettest months are March to May, so pack waterproofs and expect muddy trailheads in that window.
Combining Rwanda and Uganda
Many trekkers enter Bwindi from Kigali because it is often the shorter transfer. Uganda and Rwanda sit on one tourist visa, covered in our East Africa Tourist Visa guide. For the full country comparison, see rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking and the guide to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park.
If you want more time with the gorillas, the gorilla habituation experience offers four hours with a family.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Bwindi Lodges FAQ
What are the best Bwindi lodges with a swimming pool?
Pool facilities per lodge are not stated in the published listings, so email your shortlist directly and ask about heating and wet season opening. Read more in our best time to visit Uganda guide.
How much does a gorilla permit in Bwindi cost?
A foreign non-resident permit for Bwindi costs $800 under the Uganda Wildlife Authority tariff, which runs to June 2026. Full booking steps are in our gorilla trekking permit guide.
Which Bwindi sector is closest to Rwanda for a Kigali arrival?
The southern sectors of Rushaga and Nkuringo serve most Kigali arrivals, and lodges in Rubuguri can serve either since they are 30 to 45 minutes apart. See Bwindi gorilla trekking from Kigali.
Do Bwindi lodges include the gorilla permit in their rates?
Rates per lodge are not stated as permit inclusive, and most travellers buy the permit separately for $800. Compare bundled options in how much does gorilla trekking cost.
Are there budget Bwindi lodges?
Yes, budget and community options are listed in the southern sectors and around Rushaga, while Nkuringo has little at the budget end. Details are in our Bwindi Impenetrable National Park guide.
What is the best reviewed luxury lodge in Bwindi?
The top listed luxury lodges are Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge, Mahogany Springs, Bwindi Lodge, Buhoma Lodge and Trackers Safari Lodge Bwindi, with Bwindi Lodge rated $$$ by Condé Nast Traveler.
How many nights should I stay at a Bwindi lodge?
Plan at least the night before trek day, and a second night after, because a trek can run 2 to 7 hours plus your transfer out. Wet season timing advice is in Uganda weather.
More Guides
- Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Gorilla Trekking in Uganda Compared With Rwanda
Plan Bwindi in 2027: 4 sectors, treks of 2 to 7 hours, permits and how Uganda compares with Rwanda. See tours and book.
- How Much Does Gorilla Trekking Cost in Rwanda and Uganda?
Gorilla trekking cost 2027: permits, tour prices and booking rules. 96 permits daily in Rwanda, treks of 2 to 7 hours. Compare and plan your trek.
- Gorilla Trekking Permit: Rwanda vs Uganda Prices and How to Book
Permit prices for Rwanda and Uganda, booking steps, refunds and the 07:00 briefing. Compare both countries and book your trek for 2027.