Home › Guides › Gorilla Trekking in Africa: Where to Go and What It Costs
Gorilla Trekking in Africa: Where to Go and What It Costs
For most travellers, gorilla trekking Africa means choosing between Rwanda and Uganda, and the choice comes down to money and time: a Rwanda permit costs $1,500 per person per day and the park is about a three-hour drive from Kigali airport, while Uganda's permit is $800 and the forest is about a twelve-hour drive from Entebbe. Pick Rwanda for a short trip and Uganda for a longer, cheaper one.
Quick answer Rwanda or Uganda for gorilla trekking?
A Rwanda gorilla permit costs $1,500 per person per day and Volcanoes National Park sits about three hours from Kigali airport. Uganda's permit is $800 and Bwindi is about twelve hours from Entebbe, though most visitors reach it in four hours from Kigali instead. Both parks put you with a habituated gorilla family for one hour.
Key takeaways
- Compare the two countries on our rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking homepage
- Short on time? See a gorilla trekking day trip from Kigali
- Want Uganda prices from Kigali? Read 3 Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali
- Combining both countries? Look at 4 Day Rwanda and Uganda Gorilla Trekking
How Do Rwanda and Uganda Compare at a Glance?
Rwanda trades a higher permit price for a shorter drive, Uganda trades a longer journey for a cheaper permit and more choice of parks.
Both countries protect mountain gorillas in the same region. Rwanda treks in Volcanoes National Park. Uganda treks in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and Mgahinga. The table below puts every decision factor in one place.
The comparison
Only about 1,000 mountain gorillas remain in the wild and 604 of them live in the Virunga Massif, the chain of volcanoes that spans Rwanda, Uganda and DR Congo. Whichever side of the border you trek, you are seeing the same species in the same ecosystem. Uganda, Rwanda and Congo are named the three leading gorilla trekking destinations in Africa.
Most travellers now choose between the first two.
| Factor | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Permit price (foreign non-resident) | $1,500 per person per day | $800 per person per day |
| Getting there | Volcanoes is about a three-hour drive from Kigali international airport | Bwindi is about a twelve-hour drive from Entebbe, but about four hours from Kigali |
| Habituated families | Twelve families in Volcanoes National Park | Ten habituated families in Bwindi plus gorillas at Mgahinga |
| Daily permits | 96 permits issued daily, eight per troop | not stated |
| Hike length | 30 minutes to four or more hours, at 2,500m to 4,000m altitude | 2 to 6 hours depending on where the gorillas are |
| Minimum age | 15 years | not stated |
| Time with gorillas | One hour | One hour |
| Suits | Short trips and travellers landing in Kigali | Longer trips, lower budgets and gorilla plus chimpanzee combinations |
Permit supply and booking advice
Rwanda issues only 96 permits each day, eight per troop, spread across twelve habituated families. Bookings are first come first served. For a June, July or August trek, book several months ahead.
Ugandan permit totals are not stated on the official pages, but the same advice applies: confirm permits before booking flights. In Rwanda you can reserve by paying 40% to 99% of the visiting fee when a slot is available, with the balance due before 30 days to confirm the permit. A no-show on the visiting date makes the permit expired.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How much does it cost to gorilla trek in Africa?
The permit is the biggest line item: $1,500 per person per day in Rwanda and $800 in Uganda for a foreign non-resident.
Permits are priced per person per day in both countries. Around them you add transport, lodging and tour fees.
Permit prices side by side
The Rwanda Development Board sets the foreign non-resident permit at $1,500 per person per day. The Uganda Wildlife Authority tariff sets the Bwindi and Mgahinga foreign non-resident permit at $800, with a rest-of-Africa rate of $500 and a foreign resident rate of $700. Rwanda also runs promotional rates.
A foreign resident in Rwanda pays $500 and an African citizen or African foreign resident pays $500 under the promotional rate, which is not valid from June to October, and Rwandan and East African citizens pay $200. A 30% low season discount for the full $1,500 permit runs from November to May, but only for trips that combine Volcanoes with at least two nights in Akagera or Nyungwe with one paid activity. One discounted permit is allowed per three-day, two-night stay.
A small consolation if gorillas are elusive in Rwanda: if you track all day and fail to contact a family, 75% of the tracking fee is refunded. If the gorillas' movement prevents tracking altogether, you get another chance or a full refund.
| Permit | Price |
|---|---|
| Rwanda, foreign non-resident | $1,500 per person per day |
| Uganda, foreign non-resident | $800 |
| Uganda, foreign resident | $700 |
| Uganda, rest of Africa | $500 |
| Rwanda, foreign resident or African citizen (promotional, not valid June to October) | $500 |
| Rwanda or East African citizen (promotional) | $200 |
What does a full gorilla tour cost beyond the permit?
A guided day tour removes the logistics. Our cheapest option is 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park at $342 per person for 12 hours, but the gorilla permit is bought separately on top of that. Full-day tours that include the permit sit near $2,650 per person, such as 1 Day Gorilla Trekking Safari Tour at $2,650 and 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour at $2,687.
Multi-day trips spread the cost across more experiences. In Uganda, 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience costs $1,860 per person and 3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda costs $2,600 per person. In Rwanda, 2 Days Gorilla & Golden Monkey Trekking Safaris costs $715 per person with the permit bought separately.
Add-ons are priced separately by the parks too: golden monkey tracking costs $100 for a foreigner, the Mount Bisoke hike costs $75 and the Dian Fossey tomb hike costs $75.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Rwanda Development Board.
Which African country is the best for gorilla trekking?
Rwanda is best for short trips from Kigali, Uganda is best for travellers with three or more days and a tighter budget.
There is no single best country. The right answer depends on how much time and money you have.
Choose Rwanda when time is short
Volcanoes National Park is about a three-hour drive from Kigali international airport, which makes a same-day gorilla trek possible. You report to the Kinigi headquarters at 7:00 AM for the briefing, then hike anywhere from 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500m to 4,000m altitude. The trade-off is the $1,500 permit.
If the flight arrives late or you simply want a buffer, a two-day format is safer. 2 Days Gorilla & Golden Monkey Trekking Safaris adds golden monkeys, whose troupes can include up to 30 monkeys, to the gorilla morning.
Choose Uganda for value and variety
Uganda's permit costs about half of Rwanda's. The catch used to be the drive: Bwindi sits about twelve hours from Entebbe. Most travellers now solve this by flying into Kigali and driving to Bwindi's southern sectors in around four hours.
Uganda also stacks well. A three-day trip adds the Batwa Cultural Experience after the trek, as in 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience. With five days you can cover gorilla trekking, chimp trekking and at least one boat safari.
Uganda additionally offers a gorilla habituation experience, a longer format with a family still being habituated, listed among the country's trekking options.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Tours That Fit
Bookable options on both sides of the border, from a same-day dash to a three-day safari.
1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park
A private 12 hour Kigali day trek with 4x4 transport and meals included, but the mandatory gorilla permit is paid for separately.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Universal Ventures
2 Days Gorilla & Golden Monkey Trekking Safaris
Two private treks with canoeing and a lodge night, but the $715 price excludes the gorilla permit while golden monkey permits are included.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 3 days
- Operator
- Kingfisher Journeys
3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
Private three day Uganda gorilla safari with the permit, two nights lodging, meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride for $2600 per person.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dav Safaris
3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience
A private 3 day Uganda gorilla trek with a Batwa cultural experience, permit of $800 included in the $1860 price, from Entebbe or Kampala.
- Cancellation
- Full refund 6 days ahead, 50% between 2 and 6 days, no refund within 2 days
- Operator
- Eco Adventure Safaris
Is it safe to go gorilla trekking in Rwanda right now?
Rwanda is widely considered Africa's safest gorilla destination and treks run under strict park rules with armed escorts and guides.
Safety covers both the country and the trail rules that protect you and the gorillas.
Rules that shape the trek day
Groups are capped at eight visitors per family and viewing time is limited to one hour. You must keep a distance of 7 meters, about 22 feet, from the gorillas. The Gorilla Friendly Pledge asks visitors to wear a facemask at all times in the presence of the gorillas and to leave no waste in the park.
You cannot visit if you are sick with a cold, flu or another contagious illness, because gorillas catch human respiratory infections. Keep your voice low, avoid rapid movements and do not litter. Documents are verified at park entry gates, and a wrong or false application can lead to denied entry even with a paid permit, so book under your correct passport details.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Is gorilla trekking worth the money?
Travellers consistently rate it among the best wildlife experiences on earth, and your permit directly funds the conservation that keeps the gorillas alive.
It is expensive, so the question is fair. Here is what the money buys.
What your permit pays for
10% of permit revenue goes to local communities around Volcanoes National Park. That revenue share is a large part of why roughly 1,000 mountain gorillas now survive in the wild, up from a fraction of that decades ago. Rwanda doubled its permit price from $750 to $1,500 in May 2017 and raised the community share from 5% to 10% at the same time.
On the ground you get a briefing, armed park rangers, trackers who find the family before you arrive and a guaranteed one-hour encounter with animals that share about 98% of their DNA with humans. If tracking fails completely, Rwanda refunds 75% of the fee or gives you another day, so the risk of paying for nothing is capped.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How do I get a gorilla trekking permit?
Book directly through the Rwanda Development Board online portal or through a licensed tour operator, and confirm permits before locking in flights.
Permits are first come first served and Rwanda issues only 96 per day.
Booking steps and the fine print
You can track through a local or international tour operator as a package, or book directly online. Rwanda processes applications in about one day and generates the permit automatically once the application is complete. To secure a slot in advance you pay 40% to 99% of the fee, with the balance due before 30 days to confirm.
Cash payment at the park is not permitted. Changing dates costs 20% of the application fee. More than 7 days before the visit it is approved automatically, within 7 days it needs RDB approval.
No refund is made in case of late arrivals, flight delays, absence or cancellation of the trip for any other reason, so build slack into your travel plans.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
What is the age limit for gorilla trekking?
The minimum age for gorilla tracking in Rwanda is 15 years, and Uganda's official pages do not state a figure.
The limit is set by the wildlife authorities, not by tour operators.
Age rules across activities
In Rwanda, gorilla tracking requires a minimum age of 15. Golden monkey tracking allows children from 12. The Mount Bisoke and Dian Fossey hikes require 15, while the Sabyinyo hike allows 12 and nature walks allow 5.
If you are travelling with younger children, one adult can trek while the other takes them on a nature walk or to the Musanze caves, which are only a 90-minute drive from Kigali and cost $50 for a foreigner.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How long do I spend with the gorillas?
One hour once you reach the family, on top of a hike that can last from 30 minutes to six hours or more.
The clock starts when you find the gorillas, not when you leave the trailhead.
What the day actually looks like
In Rwanda you report to Kinigi headquarters at 7:00 AM for the briefing. Tracking can run between 90 minutes and the whole morning depending on which family is assigned, and hikes range from 30 minutes to four or more hours at altitudes of 2,500m to 4,000m. Ugandan treks last 2 to 6 hours depending on where the gorillas are.
Expect 30 minutes to three quarters of the day in total, so prepare for both extremes. Porters are available in Rwanda to carry backpacks and cameras and help on the route, though the official pages do not print a fee. Gumboots, raincoats and gloves can be hired at park headquarters if the weather turns.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Are there porters for hire on gorilla treks?
Yes, porters are available in Rwanda to carry your pack and help on steep sections, and hiring one supports the local community.
Most trekkers take a porter and few regret it.
Packing and trail kit
The Gorilla Friendly Pledge recommends hiking boots or sturdy shoes, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves. Uganda's Wildlife Authority rules for its parks add no flash photography. Bring rain gear in every season: permits are sold throughout the year and the wettest months are March to May.
Hiring a porter also spreads the benefit. Since 10% of permit revenue already goes to local communities, a porter's wage is a direct second channel. No official porter fee is printed, so agree the amount at the trailhead before you set off.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Which country should you choose?
Choose Rwanda for a one or two-day trek from Kigali, Uganda for a three to five-day safari at a lower permit price.
Match the country to your trip length and budget, not to a ranking.
By traveller type
Short on time. Rwanda. Volcanoes is about three hours from Kigali airport, so 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park at $342 per person, permit separate, fits inside a single long day. On a budget. Uganda. The $800 permit halves the biggest cost, and 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience at $1,860 per person includes the Batwa encounter on top of the trek. Combining countries. Start in Kigali and trek both sides. 4 Day Rwanda and Uganda Gorilla Trekking does exactly that, and Traveller reports of combined Uganda and Rwanda trips with chimp and gorilla trekking are common among visitors who want both parks in one holiday. Maximum wildlife. Uganda.
With five days you can add chimp trekking and a boat safari to the gorillas. 5 Day Uganda Gorilla and Chimpanzee Safari is built for that. Comfort and pace. Rwanda. Short drives, a 7:00 AM briefing at Kinigi and the Ellen DeGeneres Campus, open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. near the park, fill the afternoon after your trek for a suggested $25 donation per adult.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Gorilla trekking Africa FAQ
How much does it cost to gorilla trek in Africa?
Rwanda charges $1,500 per person per day for a foreign non-resident permit and Uganda charges $800 under the Uganda Wildlife Authority tariff, before tour, transport and lodging costs. See our rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking guide for the full breakdown.
Which African country is the best for gorilla trekking?
Rwanda for short trips, since Volcanoes National Park is about a three-hour drive from Kigali airport, and Uganda for longer trips, since the permit is about half the price and Bwindi pairs well with chimpanzee trekking and boat safaris.
Is it safe to go gorilla trekking in Rwanda right now?
Treks run under strict rules with eight visitors per group, a 7-meter distance from the gorillas and a facemask requirement, and sick visitors are not allowed into the park.
Is gorilla trekking worth the money?
You get a guaranteed one-hour encounter with a habituated family, and 10% of Rwanda's permit revenue funds local communities that protect the roughly 1,000 mountain gorillas left in the wild. If no gorillas are contacted, 75% of the Rwanda fee is refunded.
What is the age limit for gorilla trekking?
Rwanda's minimum age is 15 years. Younger children can do golden monkey tracking from age 12 or a nature walk from age 5.
How long do I spend with the gorillas?
One hour with the family. The hike to reach them lasts anywhere from 30 minutes to four or more hours in Rwanda and 2 to 6 hours in Uganda.
Are there porters for hire on gorilla treks?
Yes, porters are available in Rwanda to carry backpacks and cameras and help on the route. No official fee is printed, so agree a price at the trailhead.
When is the best time to go gorilla trekking?
Permits are available throughout the year and the wettest months are March to May, so the drier months outside that window make the trails easier. Rwanda also offers a 30% low season permit discount from November to May for trips combining Volcanoes with Akagera or Nyungwe.
More Guides
- Best Time to Visit Uganda for Gorilla Trekking
Plan the best time to visit Uganda in 2027. Two dry seasons, June to September and December to February, See the month table and book.
- Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Gorilla Trekking in Uganda Compared With Rwanda
Plan Bwindi in 2027: 4 sectors, treks of 2 to 7 hours, permits and how Uganda compares with Rwanda. See tours and book.
- East Africa Tourist Visa for Gorilla Trekking in Rwanda and Uganda
The East Africa Tourist Visa covers Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya for 90 days in 2027 on one $100 visa. See how to apply for your gorilla trek.