Rwanda vs Uganda Gorilla TrekkingAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Dav Safaris 3 Day Gorilla Trekking Uganda

  • 3 daysDuration
  • 5.0 · 236Reviews on Viator
  • From $2,600per person
  • Free cancellation 24hCancellation
Quick answer Quick answer

This 3 day gorilla trekking Uganda tour costs $2,600 per person and includes the Uganda gorilla permit, two nights of lodging with meals, a Batwa community tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride. It runs privately from Kampala to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park.

Key takeaways

A mountain gorilla infant perched on its mother's back, both looking toward the camera
5.0★236 reviews
$2,600per person
3 daysduration
Freecancellation 24
Check Availability

Sold and operated by Dav Safaris. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all gorilla tours in Rwanda and Uganda

This 3 day gorilla trekking Uganda tour from Dav Safaris runs from Kampala to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and back. It is a private safari priced at $2,600 per person, and the Uganda gorilla permit is included in that figure, so the permit is not a separate bill. The trip covers the trek, two nights of lodging with all meals, transport in a 4 x 4 WD tourist vehicle with an English speaking guide, a Batwa community tour and a canoe ride on Lake Bunyonyi. It suits travelers who want one package price and have three full days. For how it sits against the other side of the border, see the guide to Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking.

About This Tour

Dav Safaris runs this private three day gorilla trekking safari from Kampala to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The listing rates it 5.0 from 236 reviews, which makes it the most reviewed tour in this guide. The Uganda gorilla permit is part of the price, so the $2,600 covers the trek itself as well as the vehicle, guide, lodging and meals.

The tour is built as a drive day, a trek day and a return day, with a Batwa community tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride worked in.

Price
$2,600 per person, with the Uganda gorilla permit included.
Gorilla permit
Gorilla permit per person is included in the price. UWA sets the foreign non-resident permit at $800, so the rest of the package covers the vehicle, guide, lodging, meals and extras.
Length
3 days, two nights of accommodation with breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinking water in transit.
Start point
Kampala, with hotel pickup included. The meeting point is not stated, so confirm it on the booking page.
Group type
Private tour. The maximum group size is not stated.
Cancellation
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.

Day by Day

The listing gives the route and the activities but not clock times, so the plan below uses phases. Confirm pickup and briefing times with the operator.

  1. Pickup

    Kampala to Bwindi

    Hotel pickup from Kampala in a 4 x 4 WD tourist vehicle with your English speaking guide. UWA's route notes put the drive at roughly 6 hours to Kabale plus about 5 hours of murram road to the Buhoma side. Dinner and the first of two nights of accommodation with meals.

  2. Park briefing

    Bwindi registration and briefing

    Trek day begins at your assigned sector, one of Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga or Nkuringo depending on permit availability. The listing does not state a briefing time, so confirm it. Groups are capped at eight visitors with a 10 m distance rule and no flash photography.

  3. The trek

    Gorilla trek and one hour with the family

    Uganda treks last 2 to 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation once you reach the gorillas. The minimum age is 15. Porters are available to carry packs, though the listing does not say whether one is arranged for you.

  4. Afternoon

    Batwa community tour

    A Batwa community tour is included in the price. The listing does not fix it to a specific day, so it may fall on the trek day or the travel days. The Batwa Trail Experience in Bwindi carries a $40 foreign non-resident fee on the UWA tariff when bought standalone, so its inclusion here adds value.

  5. Afternoon or morning

    Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride

    A canoe ride on Lake Bunyonyi is also included. The lake sits in the Kabale area you pass through on the road, which is why it fits this route without extra driving days.

  6. Return drive

    Bwindi back to Kampala

    The final leg is the return transfer to Kampala in the same vehicle, allowing a full day given UWA's route figures. Drinking water in transit is included. The listing does not state an end time, so keep evening plans open.

Lake Bunyonyi in soft haze with forested hills and a small boat on the water

Lake Bunyonyi in southwest Uganda. Photo: flowcomm, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What the Price Covers

The listing is explicit about what is in the $2,600 and what is not. The one wrinkle is the gorilla permit: the includes list states it is per person, and this tour's own notes confirm the Uganda permit is in the price.

How the Listings Compare

The table sets these figures side by side, and anything not stated is marked that way.

ItemIn the priceNotes
Gorilla permitYesUganda permit per person, UWA rate $800 for foreign non-residents
2 nights accommodationYesWith breakfast, lunch and dinner
Drinking waterYesIn transit only
4 x 4 WD vehicle and guideYesEnglish speaking guide
Lake Bunyonyi canoe rideYesListed as an extra included
Batwa community tourYesListed as an extra included
International flightNoArrange your own
Tips and gratuitiesNoAmount not stated
Personal insuranceNoArrange your own
PorterNot statedAsk the operator

Included in $2,600

You get the Uganda gorilla permit per person, two nights of accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner, drinking water in transit, transport in a 4 x 4 WD tourist vehicle, the services of an English speaking safari guide, a Batwa community tour and a canoe ride on Lake Bunyonyi. Hotel pickup from Kampala is included. Because the permit alone is worth $800 at the UWA foreign non-resident rate, the remainder covers roughly three days of vehicle, guide, fuel, lodging and food.

  • Gorilla permit per person
  • 2 nights accommodation with meals
  • Drinking water in transit
  • 4 x 4 WD tourist vehicle
  • English speaking safari guide
  • Batwa community tour
  • Canoe ride on Lake Bunyonyi

Paid on Top

The listing excludes your international flight, tips and gratuities, personal expenses such as phone bills and antiquity purchases, and personal insurance. Drinks other than transit drinking water are not mentioned as included, so budget for them. Porters are not stated either way, and a porter fee is not printed on the official pages, so ask the operator what a porter costs if you want one on the trail.

  • International flight
  • Tips and gratuities
  • Personal expenses and insurance
  • Drinks beyond transit water
  • Porter, if you hire one

One Line to Confirm

Some listing text mentions purchases of antiquities as excluded, which is an odd wording for a personal-expenses clause. It does not change what is covered. The permit inclusion is stated twice, so that is safe, but confirm the meeting point and pickup time on the booking page because the listing does not print either.

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

A female mountain gorilla chewing a root in the forest

A female of the Mubare group eating a root, Buhoma sector, Bwindi. Photo: Charles J. Sharp, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Pros and Cons

This listing carries the most reviews of any tour in this guide at 5.0 from 236, but reviews are not a reason to ignore its weak points.

What we genuinely like

  • The Uganda gorilla permit is in the $2,600, so you pay one figure to one operator.
  • Two nights of accommodation with breakfast, lunch, dinner and transit drinking water are covered.
  • The Batwa community tour and Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride are included rather than sold as extras.
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure.
  • Private tour with hotel pickup in a 4 x 4 WD vehicle and wheelchair accessible transport.

The honest downsides

  • At $2,600 it is the most expensive three day Uganda package here, against $1,860 for the Eco Adventure trip with the permit also included.
  • The listing does not name the Bwindi sector, the meeting point or any clock times, so you must confirm the detail with the operator.
  • The drive from Kampala is long, roughly 6 hours to Kabale plus about 5 more to Buhoma on UWA's figures, on both the first and last day.
  • Tips, insurance, international flights and porters are all extra, and porter fees are not published anywhere official.

Who it's NOT for: Travelers watching the budget or starting from Kigali should compare Eco Adventure 3-Day Gorillas and Batwa Trip at $1,860 or Antique Safari 3-Day Bwindi Trek from Kigali instead.

Before You Go

Uganda has stricter entry paperwork than Rwanda: an online e-visa and a yellow fever certificate. Sort both before the drive, because there are no visas on arrival.

Visa

Uganda Immigration states there are no visas issued on arrival and all visa-prone travelers must apply online and carry the approval letter. The single entry tourist visa costs $50, and the approval is valid for 90 days from the day of approval with the visa granted for up to 3 months. Documents listed include a passport valid 6 months, tour plan, itinerary, photograph and hotel booking.

If you plan to continue to Rwanda or Kenya, the East African Tourist Visa costs $100, covers all three countries, is valid 90 days and is issued by the first country of entry.

Health

The CDC says the yellow fever vaccine is required for all travelers arriving in Uganda aged 1 year or older, so carry the certificate at the border. CDC also recommends prescription malaria medicine, with risk throughout the country. Anyone who turns up at the trek with a cold, flu or other contagious illness is turned back under the park rules, so travel with a plan if you are prone to respiratory infections.

Gear and Fitness

Official advice for gorilla trails calls for hiking boots or sturdy shoes, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves, with trails steep and muddy in any month. Porters are available to carry backpacks and cameras and help on the route, though no fee is printed on the official pages, so ask the operator. The listing rates this tour suitable for all physical fitness levels, which reads generously for a forest trek, so judge your own fitness against a 2 to 7 hour walk.

Gumboots and raincoats can be hired at park headquarters in Rwanda, and Uganda parks offer similar local hire, but confirm with your operator rather than counting on it.

Age and Permit Deadline

The trek minimum age is 15 in Uganda under UWA rules, and the listing's adult 14 to 90 band is a booking category, not the park rule, so a 14 year old cannot join the trek. Foreign non-resident permits are booked only through licensed tour operators and are paid in full at booking since the 7 day reservation window was suspended, so book early and expect no payment hold.

Sources: Uganda Immigration, CDC Travel Health, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

How the Tour Runs

The listing gives the route and the parts of the trip but prints few clock times. Pickup is from Kampala, the trek is in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, and the tour ends with a return transfer to Kampala.

How the Listings Compare

The table sets these figures side by side, and anything not stated is marked that way.

Part of the tourTimeNotes
Hotel pickup, KampalaNot statedPickup included, confirm the time with the operator
Drive to Bwindi areaNot statedUWA: about 6 hours Kampala to Kabale, about 5 more to Buhoma, 4WD recommended
Gorilla trek in BwindiNot statedUWA: treks run 2 to 7 hours with 60 minutes with the gorillas
Batwa community tourNot statedIncluded in the price
Lake Bunyonyi canoe rideNot statedIncluded in the price
Return transfer to KampalaNot statedEnd time not stated

Day One, Kampala to Bwindi

Pickup from your Kampala hotel is included, though the listing does not give a departure time. UWA puts the road distance from Kampala to the Bwindi area at about 414 km of tarmac to Kabale, roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram road to Buhoma, roughly 5 more hours, and recommends a 4WD. The tour uses a 4 x 4 WD tourist vehicle.

Expect the whole day to be travel, with dinner and the first night at your lodge. Entebbe airport sits 40 km south west of Kampala, so plan your flight arrival for the day before.

Day Two, the Gorilla Trek

This is the trek day in Bwindi. Uganda gorilla treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation, under UWA rules. The listing does not name the Bwindi sector, the briefing time or the return time, so confirm those with the operator.

The Batwa community tour and the Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride fall in and around this leg of the trip, though the listing does not pin them to a specific day.

Day Three, Back to Kampala

The final leg is the return transfer to Kampala. The same road rules apply, so allow a full day. The listing does not give an end time or a drop-off point beyond the return transfer, so set any onward flight for the evening at the earliest, or the next day.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

Watch a Trek in Bwindi

The walk through Bwindi's forest to a gorilla family, filmed by a zoologist. Third-party video by Roxy the Zoologist. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.

The Park and the Gorilla Trek in Bwindi

The trek happens in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, a 321 km2 forest in south west Uganda that UWA says holds roughly half of the world's mountain gorillas. Here is what the official rules mean for your day, and what the drive from Kampala involves.

The Park

UWA gives Bwindi an altitude range of 1,160 m to 2,607 m above sea level and counts about 459 mountain gorillas inside it, a figure that matches the 2018 Bwindi-Sarambwe census. The park has four trekking sectors: Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo. Trails are steep and muddy in any month, and rain slows them further.

Uganda's wet seasons run March to May and September to November per Explore Uganda, and June to August is called ideal for gorilla trekking because trails are drier.

The Trek Rules

UWA sets the minimum age at 15 years, a maximum of eight visitors per gorilla group, a 10 m distance from the animals, one hour per group per day and no flash photography. Anyone ill is turned back, so a cold on trek day costs you the experience. The booking categories on this listing read adult 14 to 90, but that is the platform's age band for buying, not the park rule: a 14 year old cannot trek.

Report times for Bwindi are not stated in this listing, so ask the operator when to be at the park. Foreign non-resident permits can only be booked through licensed tour operators and, from the 2026 tariff letter, are paid in full at booking.

The Road from Kampala

There is no official drive time from Kampala to the Bwindi trailheads, so do not plan around a single figure. UWA's own route description runs about 414 km of tarmac from Kampala to Kabale, roughly 6 hours, then 120 km of murram to Buhoma, roughly 5 hours more. Kisoro and Kihihi airstrips have daily flights from Entebbe if you would rather fly one way, with the Kisoro flight taking about 1 hour 10 minutes.

A long drive day one and a long drive day three are the price of starting in Kampala.

The Same Trip Across the Border

Rwanda offers the same hour with the gorillas at Volcanoes National Park, reached in about three hours by road from Kigali per Visit Rwanda. The catch is the permit: $1,500 from the Rwanda Development Board against Uganda's $800. Treks there run from 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500 to 4,000 m, groups are capped at eight, the distance rule is 7 m and briefing is at Kinigi at 7:00 am.

One-day tours from Kigali run from $260 plus the permit with Vista Safaris or $2,650 with it included through Shalom Safaris. Rwanda also gives a visa on arrival at $50, while Uganda requires an online e-visa. If a short transfer matters more than the permit saving, look at Antique Safari 3-Day Bwindi Trek from Kigali, which starts in Kigali and crosses at Katuna or Cyanika, or read the full Uganda vs Rwanda gorilla trekking comparison before choosing.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Visit Rwanda.

Which Bwindi Sector Will You Trek From?

Bwindi has four sectors and your permit fixes which one you trek from. This listing does not name its sector, which is worth knowing before you book.

The Four Sectors

UWA names the sectors as Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo. Depending on permit availability at confirmation, you may be assigned any of them. Buhoma is the sector on the route UWA describes from Kampala through Kabale and Kihihi, but the listing does not commit to it.

Because permits are paid in full at booking through licensed operators, the sector you get depends on what is open when Dav Safaris secures your permit.

  • Buhoma
  • Ruhija
  • Rushaga
  • Nkuringo

What This Means for Your Booking

Sector determines your lodge location, your trailhead and how hard the walk tends to be, though the listing and the official pages do not rank difficulty by sector. Ask the operator which sector your permit is booked for before you pay, since a change later is not a given. If knowing your sector matters to you, Antique Safari 3-Day Bwindi Trek from Kigali and Eco Adventure 3-Day Gorillas and Batwa Trip are alternative Uganda itineraries worth comparing on the same question.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

Can You Add the Batwa or Lake Bunyonyi?

On this tour you do not add them, they are already in. Comparable three day packages in Uganda sell the Batwa walk and a lake canoe as paid extras, so it is worth seeing what you are getting.

What Is Already in This Package

The Batwa community tour and the canoe ride on Lake Bunyonyi are both listed as included in the $2,600. Elsewhere in Uganda, the Batwa Trail Experience in Bwindi is priced at $40 for foreign non-residents by UWA, excluding entrance fees, and three day itineraries sold by other operators list canoeing on Lake Bunyonyi or Lake Mutanda and an equator stopover as optional activities. Here they come as part of the package, which is a large part of what separates this listing from cheaper Uganda tours that stop at the trek alone.

What You Could Add Elsewhere

If you want more than one cultural or lake activity, the five day option is Prime Safaris 5-Day Gorillas and Chimps at $2,863, which adds chimpanzee permits in Kibale, where chimp tracking costs $250 for foreign non-residents in the current tariff. For a cheaper three day package that still includes the Batwa element, Eco Adventure 3-Day Gorillas and Batwa Trip runs $1,860 with the Uganda permit included. An equator stop is not mentioned in this listing, so ask the operator if it can be worked into the Kampala drive.

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

Is Three Days Enough for Gorilla Trekking in Uganda?

Three days is the standard shape of a Uganda gorilla trip from Kampala, and the shape is dictated by the road more than the trek.

The Math of the Route

Day one is the drive, day two is the trek, day three is the return. UWA's route notes put Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km and 6 hours, with another 120 km and roughly 5 hours of murram road to Buhoma. That is why a Kampala departure needs three days and cannot sensibly be done in two.

The trek itself takes 2 to 7 hours under UWA rules, so the gorilla hour is not the limiting factor, the road is. Because of the high cost, most travelers do a single gorilla trek, and three days fits exactly one.

When Three Days Is Not Enough

If you want two treks, or gorillas plus chimpanzees, you need more days. Lulu Safaris 4-Day Gorillas and Wildlife at $2,450 adds a wildlife day, and Prime Safaris 5-Day Gorillas and Chimps at $2,863 adds chimpanzee tracking with both permits included. If you are short on time instead, flying into Kigali and trekking from there cuts the road sharply: Antique Safari 3-Day Bwindi Trek from Kigali reaches the same park from a much closer airport. See the Uganda vs Rwanda gorilla trekking for the full Rwanda or Uganda for gorillas comparison.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

What Are the Odds of Seeing the Gorillas?

Mountain gorillas are wild, so there are no guarantees, but it is extremely rare for visitors not to see gorillas on their trek.

Why the Odds Are High

Trackers head out ahead of your group and locate the habituated family before you start, then guide you to them. That system, plus the fact that the same families are visited daily by groups of eight, is why a no-show is unusual. UWA caps the visit at one hour and ten meters, and Bwindi holds roughly 459 mountain gorillas across its sectors, so there is a deep pool of families to assign.

What Can Still Go Wrong

The main way to miss out is illness, because anyone with a cold, flu or other contagious illness is turned back at the park. The other variable is effort: treks run 2 to 7 hours, and gorillas move, so a family deep in the forest makes a longer day. Book the permit early, since it is paid in full at booking through a licensed operator, and treat a missed sighting as a rare outcome rather than a planning case.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

FAQ

How much does a gorilla trek cost in Uganda?

The gorilla permit alone is $800 for foreign non-residents on the UWA tariff, and a three day package from Kampala such as this Dav Safaris tour costs $2,600 per person with the permit included. Compare permit-included and permit-extra listings on the Uganda vs Rwanda gorilla trekking.

Is 3 days enough for a gorilla trekking trip?

Yes, for one trek. The road from Kampala to the Bwindi area takes roughly 6 hours to Kabale plus about 5 more on murram, so day one drives, day two treks and day three returns, which is exactly what this tour does. See how the tour runs.

Is the gorilla permit included in this tour?

Yes, the listing states the gorilla permit per person is included in the $2,600. The UWA rate is $800 for foreign non-residents, so the rest covers vehicle, guide, lodging, meals and the Batwa and canoe activities. Check what the price covers.

What is the minimum age for the trek?

UWA sets the minimum age at 15 years for gorilla tracking. The booking categories on this listing read adult 14 to 90, but that is the platform's buying band, not the park rule. The rules are in the park section.

Do I need a visa for this tour?

Yes. Uganda Immigration states there are no visas on arrival, so apply online for the $50 single entry tourist visa and carry the approval letter. If you will also visit Rwanda or Kenya, the East African Tourist Visa is $100 for 90 days across the three countries. Details are in before you go.

Which sector of Bwindi will I trek from?

The listing does not say. Bwindi has four sectors, Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo, and assignment depends on permit availability at confirmation, so ask the operator which sector your permit is booked for before paying. Read which Bwindi sector.

What happens if I am sick on trek day?

Park rules turn back anyone with a cold, flu or other contagious illness, and the permit is not refunded on the spot. Pack for the wet forest and consider a porter, since trails run steep and muddy in any month. The gear list is in before you go.

Compare with

Read Next

This $2,600 private safari includes the Uganda gorilla permit, two nights with meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride.

Free cancellation applies if you cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $2,600 per person Check Availability