Home › Guides › Gorilla Trekking Permit: Rwanda vs Uganda Prices and How to Book
Gorilla Trekking Permit: Rwanda vs Uganda Prices and How to Book
A gorilla trekking permit costs $1,500 (US $1,500) per person per day in Rwanda and $800 (US $800) for a foreign non-resident in Uganda, a $700 (US $700) gap per person. This page compares both permits, shows how to book each one and lists the trek day rules.
Quick answer Permit prices and booking basics in three lines
Rwanda charges $1,500 (US $1,500) per person per day. Uganda charges $800 (US $800) for a foreign non-resident, $700 (US $700) for a foreign resident. Book 4 to 6 months ahead for peak months because permits sell out, and report at the park at 07:00 on trek day.
Key takeaways
- See how the permits change the trip in rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking
- Book a Rwanda day trek with 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park
- Compare the Uganda option in 3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
- Add a cultural day with 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience
How much does it cost to trek with a gorilla?
Rwanda charges $1,500 (US $1,500) per person per day for every foreign visitor and Uganda charges $800 (US $800) for a foreign non-resident, so the gap is $700 (US $700) per person.
The permit is the biggest single line on any gorilla trip budget in either country. Each price is per person, for one trek on one day.
Permit prices by country and traveller type
Rwanda has one rate for all foreign non-residents. Uganda splits its permit into tiers by residence and region, so many travellers pay less there. The Rwanda portal also runs promotional rates for residents and regional citizens, but the printed rates are not applicable from June to October.
The DRC also issues permits at $400 (US $400) for trekking, though Virunga sells visits in packages and its own pages print no official standalone permit price.
| Traveller type | Rwanda (Volcanoes NP) | Uganda (Bwindi and Mgahinga) |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign non-resident | $1,500 (US $1,500) | $800 (US $800) |
| Rest of Africa citizen | not stated | $500 (US $500) |
| Foreign resident | $500 (US $500) promotional rate, not valid June to October | $700 (US $700) |
| African citizen / foreign resident in Africa | $500 (US $500) promotional rate, not valid June to October | not stated |
| East African citizen | $200 (US $200) promotional rate, not valid June to October | UGX 300,000 |
| Gorilla habituation experience (Uganda) | not stated | $1,500 (US $1,500), four hours with the gorillas |
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How to get a gorilla trekking permit?
You book a Rwanda permit online through the RDB portal or through a tour operator package, and a Uganda permit through the Uganda Wildlife Authority or an operator.
Both countries sell permits directly and through operators. The steps differ, and the paperwork matters in Rwanda because wrong documents void the permit at the gate.
Booking a Rwanda permit
Tracking can be booked directly online or via local and international tour operators as a package. On the RDB portal, bookings are first come first served and the permit is generated automatically once your application is complete. Rwandan nationals pay in full at booking.
You supply your name, nationality, passport number and date of birth. Permits are non-transferable and you show your passport at the briefing. Tourists with erroneous, incomplete or false applications are denied entry at the park gate regardless of a paid permit, so check every document field.
If you want a slot far ahead, an advance booking option lets you pay 40% to 99% of the visiting fee when a slot is available, with the balance due before 30 days to confirm the permit. Processing takes about 1 day and cash payment at the park is not permitted.
Booking a Uganda permit
Book through the Uganda Wildlife Authority or through an operator who holds the permits. You need the same personal details, and permits are issued per habituated group at 8 permits per group daily.
| Step | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Where to book | RDB portal online or a tour operator package | Uganda Wildlife Authority or a tour operator |
| Details needed | Name, nationality, passport number, date of birth | Name, nationality, passport number, date of birth |
| Processing time | About 1 day | not stated |
| At the park | Passport checked at the entry gate | Passport checked at briefing |
Documents that can void a permit
Rwanda is strict here. Park staff verify documents at the entry gates, and a wrong, false or expired document means denied entry even when the permit itself is paid and valid. If staff have doubts about your documents, send supporting papers to reservation@rwandatourism.com before your visit.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Visit Rwanda.
How early should I book a gorilla permit?
Book about 5 months in advance, and 6 months ahead for the peak seasons of June to August and December to February.
Permits are limited per day in both countries, so lead time decides your dates.
Lead time and daily permit pools
Operators advise booking a permit about 5 months ahead, and permits can sell out four months ahead in peak season. For the June to August and December to February peaks, guides recommend at least 6 months. In quiet seasons a last-minute permit is sometimes possible.
Supply differs sharply. Uganda issues more than 200 permits per day in Bwindi plus about 8 in Mgahinga. Rwanda issues only 96 permits per day in total, 8 per troop.
If your dates are fixed and close, Uganda has more room, and last-minute Rwanda permits are rare.
| Feature | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Permits per day | 96 in total, 8 per troop | 200+ in Bwindi plus 8 in Mgahinga |
| Peak season booking window | 5 to 6 months ahead | 6 months ahead |
| Last-minute permits | rare | possible in quiet seasons |
Source: Visit Rwanda.
What does a gorilla permit cover?
The permit covers the guided trek and one hour with the gorillas, and it does not cover accommodation, transport or meals.
A permit is not a package. Budget the extras separately.
Included and extra costs
In Uganda the permit explicitly covers only the guided trek and the one hour with the gorillas. In Rwanda the RDB portal does not state what the permit covers, and Visit Rwanda describes the day as a briefing at park headquarters followed by a trek to the park boundary, with included items not stated officially. Most of our tours are sold without the permit, so you add it on top. 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park from Universal Ventures costs $342 per person for 12 hours and states the gorilla permit is bought separately, the same as Rwanda Gorilla Trek in Volcanoes National Park at $260 per person.
Some tours do include it, for example 1 Day Gorilla Trekking Safari Tour at $2,650 per person and 1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour at $2,687 per person.
| Cost item | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Guided trek and 1 hour with gorillas | covered, official included list not stated | covered |
| Accommodation, transport, meals | not covered | not covered |
| Porter for your backpack | available, fee not stated | not stated |
| Gumboot, raincoat and glove hire | can be hired at park headquarters | not stated |
Other Volcanoes National Park add-ons
If you stay an extra day around Kinigi, official RDB rates include golden monkey tracking at $100 (US $100) for a foreigner, the Mount Bisoke hike at $75 (US $75), the Dian Fossey tomb hike at $75 (US $75) and the Musanze caves at $50 (US $50). Most add-on activities also report at 07:00 at Kinigi. Crossing borders adds paperwork too.
Rwanda visa fees on Irembo include a V1 Holiday single entry at $50 (US $50), a multiple entry at $70 (US $70) and the V11 East Africa Tourist Visa at $100 (US $100), which covers Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya for 3 months, useful if you trek in both countries on one trip.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda Development Board, Irembo.
Tours That Fit
These tours work around the permit rules on this page.
1 Day Rwanda Gorilla Trekking Tour In The Volcanoes National Park
A private 12 hour Kigali day trek with 4x4 transport and meals included, but the mandatory gorilla permit is paid for separately.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Universal Ventures
3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
Private three day Uganda gorilla safari with the permit, two nights lodging, meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride for $2600 per person.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dav Safaris
3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience
A private 3 day Uganda gorilla trek with a Batwa cultural experience, permit of $800 included in the $1860 price, from Entebbe or Kampala.
- Cancellation
- Full refund 6 days ahead, 50% between 2 and 6 days, no refund within 2 days
- Operator
- Eco Adventure Safaris
Can you cancel a permit?
Rwanda gives no refund for cancellation, late arrival or missed trek dates, while Uganda refunds part of the fee on a sliding scale that ends 8 days before the trek.
The cancellation rules are the sharpest difference between the two countries, so match them to how firm your travel dates are.
Rwanda rules
The RDB portal prints that no refund is made in case of late arrivals, flight delay, absence or cancellation of trip for any other reason. A no-show on your visiting date makes the permit expired. Missing your scheduled trekking date can leave the permit non-refundable.
There are three escape hatches. If a gorilla group moves and you fail to track all day, you get another chance or a full refund. If you tracked all day and found no gorillas, 75% of the tracking fee is refunded.
And you can reschedule a confirmed permit for a fee of 20% of the application fee, approved automatically more than 7 days before the visit and subject to RDB approval within 7 days.
Uganda rules
Uganda refunds on a ladder tied to how far ahead you cancel, and 50% may be refunded for illness established on site.
| When you cancel | Rwanda refund | Uganda refund |
|---|---|---|
| 91 or more days ahead | none | 75% |
| 46 to 90 days ahead | none | 50% |
| 9 to 45 days ahead | none | 25% |
| inside 8 days | none | none |
| illness confirmed on site | not stated | up to 50% |
| gorillas never contacted after a full day of tracking | 75% refund, or another chance if the group moved away | not stated |
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda Development Board.
What happens on trek day, hour by hour?
You report at 07:00 at the park, attend the briefing, then trek for anywhere from 30 minutes to the whole morning before your one hour with the gorillas.
The day starts early in both countries, and the length of the trek is never guaranteed.
Timings
In Rwanda you report to the Visitor Information centre at park entry at 07h00, with the briefing at the RDB offices in Kinigi. Musanze is a 90 minute drive from Kigali, so most trekkers sleep near the park the night before. Uganda treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation.
Rwandan hikes last anything from 30 minutes to four or more hours at altitudes of 2,500m to 4,000m, and tracking can run between 90 minutes and the whole morning depending on the family assigned. Uganda also has no flash photography under its authority rules.
| Feature | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Report time | 07:00 at Kinigi | not stated, briefing before the trek |
| Trek length | 30 minutes to four or more hours | 2 to 7 hours |
| Time with gorillas | 1 hour | 60 minutes |
| Trek altitude | 2,500m to 4,000m | not stated |
Rules at the gorillas
Both parks enforce the same core rules. The minimum age is 15 years in Rwanda. You keep 7 meters, about 22 feet, from the gorillas, viewing time is one hour and a maximum of 8 visitors join each group.
Do not visit if you have a cold, flu or other contagious illness, keep your voice low, avoid rapid movements and do not litter. Rwanda's Gorilla Friendly Pledge adds a facemask at all times and leaving no waste in the park, with hiking boots, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves recommended.
| Rule | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | 15 years | not stated |
| Distance from gorillas | 7 meters (about 22 feet) | not stated |
| Viewing time | 1 hour | 60 minutes |
| Visitors per group | 8 | 8 per habituated group |
Getting there
Rwanda's Volcanoes National Park sits in the Virunga Massif, the dormant volcano chain spanning Rwanda, Uganda and the DR Congo. For a Uganda trek from Rwanda, the Katuna (Gatuna) border connects Kabale in Uganda to Rwanda, and Chanika (Cyanika) connects Kisoro District to Burera District of Rwanda, which is how our Kigali departure tours reach Bwindi.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Visit Rwanda, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How much does a gorilla permit cost in Rwanda in 2026?
The standard foreign non-resident rate stays $1,500 (US $1,500) per person per day, while promotional resident and regional rates of $200 (US $200) and $500 (US $500) are are not applicable from June to October.
Rwanda's current rate sheet mixes a fixed non-resident price with time-limited promotional rates, and the small print matters for your budget.
Who qualifies for the promotional rates
The promotional rates apply to Rwandan and East African citizens at $200 (US $200), foreign residents at $500 (US $500) and Africans or African foreign residents at $500 (US $500). Foreign residents need residence status of four consecutive months to qualify, and a diplomat's spouse and children may use resident rates. Proof at booking includes a national ID, valid passport, resident ID, diplomatic card or residence proof of at least 6 months for African foreign residents.
The foreign non-resident rate of $1,500 (US $1,500) is not discounted in this scheme. Permits went from US$750 to US$1,500 in a past RDB tariff rise, and 10% of permit revenue now goes to local communities.
A separate low season discount
RDB also runs a 30% discount on gorilla permits from November to May, but only for combined trips that add Akagera and/or Nyungwe, with 2 nights in one park plus a hotel receipt and one paid activity, or 1 night in each park on consecutive nights with the activity. One discounted permit is allowed per 3-day, 2-night stay, and the programme's current run is not confirmed on the portal.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda Development Board.
Which permit is better value for your trip?
Uganda wins on permit price and refund flexibility, Rwanda wins on access from Kigali, since the park is only a 90 minute drive from the airport city.
The permit is only one line in the total, but it is the biggest one and it shapes the whole trip.
The decision table
A foreign non-resident saves $700 (US $700) per person on the permit by trekking in Uganda. Uganda also refunds part of the fee if plans change. Rwanda trades that saving for speed, a shorter transfer and a tighter, 96-permit daily pool.
Compare full trips before you decide, using our rwanda vs uganda gorilla trekking breakdown. Our own Uganda tours show how the permit and the travel days add up. 3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda from Dav Safaris costs $2,600 per person over 3 days, and 3 Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Pygmies Experience costs $1,860 per person. In Rwanda, 2 Days Gorilla & Golden Monkey Trekking Safaris costs $715 per person with the permit bought separately.
| Factor | Rwanda | Uganda |
|---|---|---|
| Permit, foreign non-resident | $1,500 (US $1,500) | $800 (US $800) |
| Permits per day | 96 | 200+ in Bwindi plus 8 in Mgahinga |
| Cancellation refunds | none | up to 75% at 91+ days |
| Transfer from Kigali | 90 minute drive to Musanze | longer road transfer, or fly via Kigali borders |
| Habituation option | not stated | $1,500 (US $1,500), 4 hours with gorillas |
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Visit Rwanda.
Is it safe to go gorilla trekking in Rwanda right now?
Treks run daily under park rules that protect both visitors and gorillas, and the main real risks are health, altitude and steep terrain rather than the gorillas themselves.
Safety on a gorilla day is mostly about following the briefing rules and preparing for the hike.
What the park rules require of you
You must not visit if you are sick with a cold, flu or other contagious illness, because gorillas are vulnerable to human infections. Guides keep you 7 meters from the animals, you wear a facemask at all times under the Gorilla Friendly Pledge, and you keep your voice low and movements slow. Only 8 visitors join each group, which keeps the encounter controlled.
The trek itself runs at altitudes of 2,500m to 4,000m in Rwanda and can last four or more hours, so sturdy boots, waterproofs, long sleeves and gloves are recommended. Porters can carry backpacks and cameras and help on the route, and gumboots, raincoats and gloves can be hired at park headquarters.
Sources: Rwanda Development Board, Visit Rwanda.
Gorilla permit questions
How to get a gorilla trekking permit?
Book online through the RDB portal for Rwanda or through the Uganda Wildlife Authority for Uganda, or let a tour operator bundle the permit into a package such as 3 Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali. You give your name, nationality, passport number and date of birth, and the permit is issued per person for one trek day.
How much does it cost to trek with a gorilla?
$1,500 (US $1,500) per person per day in Rwanda and $800 (US $800) for a foreign non-resident in Uganda, with cheaper resident tiers in Uganda starting at $500 (US $500) for rest of Africa citizens.
What is the age limit for gorilla trekking in Rwanda?
The minimum age is 15 years, set by the RDB portal rules for Volcanoes National Park.
Is gorilla trekking dangerous?
It is a controlled encounter, 8 visitors per group, a 7 meter distance, one hour and a facemask, and the harder part is the hike itself, which can run 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500m to 4,000m in Rwanda.
What is gorilla trekking?
A guided hike into a national park to spend one hour with a habituated mountain gorilla family, sold as a permit that covers the trek and the viewing time only.
Is it safe to go gorilla trekking in Rwanda right now?
Treks run daily under strict park rules, and the main precautions are health and fitness, since sick visitors must stay away and the trails climb to 4,000m.
Can you cancel a permit?
Rwanda gives no refund for cancellation or no-show, though a failed tracking day can earn 75% back or a free retry. Uganda refunds 75% at 91 or more days, 50% at 46 to 90 days and 25% at 9 to 45 days ahead.
How early should I book a gorilla permit?
About 5 months ahead as a rule, and 6 months for the June to August and December to February peaks, when permits can sell out four months ahead.
More Guides
- Mgahinga Gorilla National Park: Uganda's Gorilla Park on the Virunga Volcanoes
Mgahinga Gorilla National Park in 2027: gorilla trekking, golden monkeys, three volcanoes and the Batwa Trail. Plan your Uganda gorilla day.
- Best Time to Visit Uganda for Gorilla Trekking
Plan the best time to visit Uganda in 2027. Two dry seasons, June to September and December to February, See the month table and book.
- Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Gorilla Trekking in Uganda Compared With Rwanda
Plan Bwindi in 2027: 4 sectors, treks of 2 to 7 hours, permits and how Uganda compares with Rwanda. See tours and book.