5 Day Uganda Gorilla and Chimpanzee Safari
- 5 daysDuration
- 5.0 · 34Reviews on Viator
- From $2,863per person
- No refund, all sales finalCancellation
Quick answer The short answer
This 5 day Uganda gorilla and chimpanzee safari costs $2,863 per person with both permits included, and five days is enough time for gorillas, chimps and one wildlife park.
Key takeaways
- Five days comfortably covers a Bwindi gorilla trek, chimpanzee tracking and Queen Elizabeth game viewing, as long as the route does not overreach. See Is Five Days Enough for Gorillas and Chimps?.
- The chimpanzee day is a briefing, a forest trek and often a wetland walk. Details in What Does the Chimpanzee Day Involve?.
- Expect long drives, since Kampala to the Bwindi area runs about 414 km to Kabale plus murram roads. More in How Long Is the Drive Between Parks?.
- For a shorter and cheaper Uganda option, compare the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari.
Sold and operated by Prime Safaris and Tours Limited. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all gorilla tours in Rwanda and Uganda
This 5 day Uganda gorilla and chimpanzee safari is a private trip from Kampala run by Prime Safaris and Tours Limited. It pairs a gorilla trek in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park with chimpanzee tracking in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve, plus wildlife viewing in Queen Elizabeth National Park. The listing prices it at $2,863 per person, and both the gorilla and the chimpanzee permits are included in that figure. All meals, private transport and WiFi on board are covered. Gratuities are not. It suits travelers who want two primate treks and a big-game park in one itinerary. If you only want gorillas, compare it with the shorter trips in the Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking guide.
About This Tour
Prime Safaris and Tours Limited runs this private five day safari overland from Kampala through Uganda's southwest. The route covers Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for the gorilla trek, then Queen Elizabeth National Park for wildlife, the Kazinga Channel, the Ishasha sector and the Katwe explosion crater. Chimpanzee tracking happens in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve, whichever the operator assigns. Both permits sit inside the $2,863 per person price, which is unusual: most Uganda listings sell the $800 gorilla permit on top. The trip holds a 5.0 rating from 34 reviews.
The main catch is money back. Cancellation terms read all sales are final, no refund is available for cancellations, and there is no reserve now pay later option. UWA also requires operators to pay permits in full at booking, so ask the operator before you commit. Travelers with poor cardiovascular health are advised against the trip, and a moderate fitness level is expected.
$2,863 per person. The listing includes gorilla and chimpanzee permits, all meals, private air-conditioned transport and WiFi on board.
Uganda gorilla and chimpanzee permits included in the price, per the listing.
5 days, starting and ending in Kampala with hotel pickup included.
Kampala, with pickup included. The exact meeting point is not stated, so confirm it on the booking page.
Private tour. A maximum group size is not stated.
All sales are final. No refund is available for cancellations, on Viator.
Check Dates and Availability
Permit numbers decide the calendar: Uganda sells eight visitors per gorilla group per day, so dates sell out early. Check live availability for this tour below.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Day-by-Day Itinerary
The listing names the stops but not the clock times, so the steps below use phase labels and only the figures the listing or official sources state.
-
Pickup
Kampala start
Hotel pickup in Kampala in a private air-conditioned vehicle, WiFi on board. The listing gives no departure time or meeting point, so confirm both with the operator.
-
Drive day
Kampala to Bwindi
The drive southwest covers about 414 km of tarmac to Kabale at roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram to the Buhoma area at roughly 5 more hours, per UWA. No drive time is stated on the listing itself.
-
The trek
Bwindi gorilla trek
Trek with a maximum of 8 visitors per group for 2 to 7 hours, then one hour with the gorillas at a 10 m distance. Permit included in the price. Minimum age 15.
-
Drive
To Queen Elizabeth National Park
Continue to the 1,978km2 park, home to over 600 bird species and 95 mammal species, with the Rwenzori Mountains in view.
-
Park day
Channel, Ishasha and Katwe
Wildlife viewing takes in the 45km Kazinga Channel between Lake George and Lake Edward, the Ishasha sector with its tree-climbing lions, and the scenic Katwe explosion crater.
-
Morning trek
Chimpanzee tracking
Track chimpanzees in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve. The listing does not state briefing times or trek length for either forest.
-
Drive back
Return to Kampala
The five day trip ends back in Kampala. No return time is stated, and all sales are final if you cancel.
A female of the Mubare group eating a root, Buhoma sector, Bwindi. Photo: Charles J. Sharp, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
What the Price Covers
The listing prices this tour at $2,863 per person and lists permits, meals and private transport as inclusions. Read the table below against the booking page before paying, because one line of the listing contradicts itself.
Included
The listing's inclusion list covers private transportation, an air-conditioned vehicle, WiFi on board, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the gorilla and chimpanzee permits. In a market where the Uganda gorilla permit alone costs $800 for foreign non-residents, that inclusion is the core of the offer. The tour is private, with hotel pickup in Kampala included in the option name.
One line of the listing states a restroom on board under exclusions, which conflicts with the air-conditioned vehicle description that suggests a full service vehicle. Confirm the actual vehicle standard with the operator on the booking page before you book, and ask how many hours of driving fall on each day.
- Private transportation and air-conditioned vehicle
- WiFi on board
- Breakfast, lunch and dinner
- Gorilla and chimpanzee permits
- Hotel pickup in Kampala
Not Included and Paid on Top
The listing excludes a restroom on board and gratuities. Tips amounts are not printed anywhere official, so budget for them separately and ask the operator what is customary. The listing does not state porter availability or a porter fee, drinks beyond meals, accommodation names, or park entrance fees beyond the permits, so ask the operator what else is covered before booking.
UWA sets park entrance for Bwindi and Queen Elizabeth at $40 per adult for foreign non-residents in its tariff, and it is worth checking whether that fee is inside the bundle.
| Item | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Gorilla permit | Yes | UWA tariff lists $800 for foreign non-residents, included here |
| Chimpanzee permit | Yes | Included per the listing, forest is Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu |
| Meals | Yes | Breakfast, lunch and dinner |
| Private transport and WiFi | Yes | Air-conditioned vehicle, pickup included |
| Gratuities | No | Listed under exclusions, no amount stated |
| Porters | Not stated | Listing is silent, ask the operator |
| Park entrance fees | Not stated | UWA tariff lists $40 per adult at Bwindi and Queen Elizabeth |
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
The Kyambura river in Kyambura Gorge, Uganda. Photo: Susanne Elsig-Lohmann, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Pros and Cons
An honest read of what this listing does well and where it asks you to take a risk.
What we genuinely like
- Both the gorilla and chimpanzee permits are included in the $2,863 price, removing a $800-plus errand and its full-payment-at-booking rule.
- Five days fits gorillas, chimps and Queen Elizabeth game viewing in one private trip from Kampala.
- All meals, private air-conditioned transport and WiFi on board are listed as included.
- A 5.0 rating from 34 reviews on the platform.
The honest downsides
- No refund at all. All sales are final, with no reserve now pay later option, so a cancelled plan costs the full fare.
- The listing is thin on detail. No meeting point, departure times, accommodation names, Bwindi sector, group size limit or porter arrangement is stated, so you must confirm several essentials with the operator.
- Days one and five are long road days, with UWA putting Kampala to Kabale at about 6 hours plus about 5 more hours of murram road.
- The listing contradicts itself on the vehicle, naming a restroom on board as excluded while describing a full service vehicle, so confirm the actual vehicle before paying.
Who it's NOT for: Travelers who want flexibility to cancel should book the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari or another listing whose terms they have confirmed.
Before You Go
A few administrative jobs decide whether this trip runs at all. Do the visa, the yellow fever certificate and the fitness prep before you pay, because the cancellation terms allow no refund.
Visa and Entry
Uganda requires a visa for most travelers, applied online, with no visas on arrival. The single entry tourist visa lists at $50, and the passport must be valid at least 6 months after arrival. Uganda Immigration asks for a tour plan, itinerary, photograph and hotel booking with the application.
If you plan to add Rwanda, the East African Tourist Visa costs $100, covers Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda, is valid 90 days and is issued by the first country of entry.
Health
The CDC says the yellow fever vaccine is required for all travelers arriving in Uganda aged 1 year or older, so carry the certificate. It also recommends prescription malaria medicine, with risk throughout the country.
Permits, Age and Fitness
Both permits are inside the tour price here, so no separate booking is needed, but remember UWA requires operators to pay permits in full at booking and no refund flows back if you cancel. The trek minimum age is 15 in Uganda under UWA rules, and 15 in Rwanda under RDB rules, so the listing's age bands for bookings do not change the trail rule. The listing asks for moderate fitness and advises against the trip for travelers with poor cardiovascular health.
What to Bring
Bwindi trails are steep and muddy in any month. Pack hiking boots or sturdy shoes, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves, which the gorilla guidance recommends for the forest. Porters are available in the gorilla parks to carry backpacks and help on the route, though no fee is printed on the official pages, and this listing does not state whether a porter is arranged.
Gratuities are excluded from the price, so carry cash for tips in an amount you are comfortable with.
Sources: Uganda Immigration, CDC Travel Health, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How the Tour Runs
The listing names the stops but prints almost no clock times. The table below gathers what is stated, with Not used where the listing is silent, so you can see the shape of the five days at a glance.
The Route Day by Day
The tour starts in Kampala with hotel pickup, then drives southwest to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for the gorilla trek. It continues to Queen Elizabeth National Park for wildlife viewing, the 45km Kazinga Channel between Lake George and Lake Edward, the Ishasha sector with its tree-climbing lions, and the Katwe explosion crater. Chimpanzee tracking runs in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve. The trip ends back in Kampala.
No departure time, return time or meeting point is stated on the listing, and no drive times between the stops are printed either. UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km and roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram road to Buhoma at roughly 5 more hours, which gives a sense of the first leg. Never build a clock time from those figures, ask the operator for the daily schedule.
| Part of the tour | Time | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Kampala pickup | Not stated | Hotel pickup included, meeting point not stated |
| Drive to Bwindi | Not stated | UWA: about 414 km to Kabale, 6 hours, plus 120 km murram |
| Bwindi gorilla trek | Not stated | Duration depends on the family assigned |
| Queen Elizabeth wildlife viewing | Not stated | 1,978km2 park, 95 mammal species |
| Kazinga Channel | Not stated | 45km channel between Lake George and Lake Edward |
| Ishasha sector | Not stated | Tree-climbing lions |
| Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu chimps | Not stated | Listing offers both, operator assigns |
| Katwe explosion crater | Not stated | Scenic highlight on the route |
| Return to Kampala | Not stated | End point is Kampala |
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Watch a Uganda Gorilla Safari
A week in Uganda that pairs the Bwindi gorillas with Queen Elizabeth National Park and Kibale. Third-party video by Karl Watson: Travel Documentaries. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
Bwindi and the Gorilla Trek
The gorilla trek happens in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, in the Kisoro and Kanungu region of southwest Uganda. The chimpanzee part runs in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve near Queen Elizabeth National Park, so no border crossing is involved on this route.
Bwindi and Its Rules
UWA credits Bwindi with roughly half of the world's mountain gorilla population, about 459 animals, across a park of 321 km2 at altitudes of 1,160 m to 2,607 m. The 2018 Bwindi-Sarambwe survey counted 459 gorillas, up from 400 at the previous count. The park has four trekking sectors, Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo. The listing does not state which sector this tour uses, so ask.
Uganda's rules set the trek shape: minimum age 15, a maximum of eight visitors per group, a 10 m distance from the gorillas, one hour of observation, and no flash photography. Treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation. Anyone sick with a contagious illness should stay away, and masking and distancing remain part of the gorilla friendly guidance.
The Uganda gorilla permit costs $800 for foreign non-residents in the current tariff, and UWA says foreign non-resident permits can only be booked through licensed tour operators, paid in full at booking since the 7 day unpaid window ended. On this tour the permit is already inside the $2,863 price, which removes that errand.
- Minimum age 15, matching both UWA and RDB rules
- 8 visitors per gorilla group, 1 hour with the gorillas
- 10 m distance in Uganda, 7 m in Rwanda
- Bwindi treks run 2 to 7 hours depending on the family
The Same Trip Across the Border
Rwanda sells the same gorilla hour at Volcanoes National Park with a $1,500 permit from the Rwanda Development Board, and the park sits about three hours by road from Kigali on the official itinerary, a far shorter transfer than Kampala to Bwindi. Groups are eight visitors with one hour, distance is 7 m, treks run 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500 m to 4,000 m, and briefing is at Kinigi at 7:00 am. Rwanda also sells visas on arrival at $50, while Uganda requires an online visa.
Rwanda fits travelers starting from Kigali who want to cut the drive and pay more for the permit. One-day tours run from $260 plus the permit with Vista Safaris Gorilla Day Trip from Kigali, or $2,650 with the permit included through Shalom Safaris 1-Day Trek, Permit Included. If you want Uganda gorillas without the five day commitment, look at the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari or the 4-Day Rwanda and Uganda Gorilla Tour, which pairs both parks. This Prime Safaris trip is the pick when chimpanzees and Queen Elizabeth game viewing matter as much as the gorillas. See the full Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking comparison for the permit and drive trade-off.
- Rwanda: $1,500 permit, 3 hours from Kigali, visa on arrival $50
- Uganda: $800 permit, long drives from Kampala, online visa only
- Both: age 15, groups of 8, one hour with the gorillas
What the Chimpanzee Day Adds
Chimpanzee tracking on this tour runs in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve, both near Queen Elizabeth National Park. Neither site carries the Kibale price tags or the Kanyanchu briefing ritual, and the listing does not state start times, group sizes or trek lengths for either forest. Ask the operator which forest is assigned and what time the briefing starts before you book.
Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Is Five Days Enough for Gorillas and Chimps?
Yes, with the caveat the ranked five-day itineraries all repeat: the plan works if you do not cram too much in.
What Fits
Five days covers gorilla trekking, chimpanzee tracking and at least one boat safari or game drive, provided the route is realistic. This tour uses its days on Bwindi, Queen Elizabeth National Park, the Kazinga Channel, Ishasha and the chimps in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu, with both permits included in the $2,863 price. That is a full but coherent loop from Kampala.
- Gorilla trek in Bwindi, 2 to 7 hours on the trail
- Chimp tracking near Queen Elizabeth
- Wildlife viewing and the Kazinga Channel
The Drive-time Reality
UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km and 6 hours, then 120 km of murram to Buhoma at about 5 more hours, so the first and last days are largely driving. If two long road days feel like too much, a three day Uganda trip that drops the chimps is leaner, and the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari is one such option at $2,600 with the permit included. Five days buys the second primate trek and the big-game park, nothing else.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
What Does the Chimpanzee Day Involve?
On this tour the chimpanzee day is a forest trek in Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu Forest Reserve, both on the Queen Elizabeth side of the route.
How Chimp Days Usually Run
Where itineraries spell the day out, it follows a set shape: a morning briefing at the park visitor centre, then the trek, then often a wetland walk. The Kibale version briefs at the Kanyanchu Visitor Centre and follows with the Bigodi Wetland Sanctuary boardwalks. This listing does not state a briefing point or time for Kyambura gorge or Kalinzu, so ask the operator which forest you get and when to report.
The Kibale chimpanzee permit costs $250 for foreign non-residents in the current UWA tariff, rising to $300 from 1 January 2027, which gives a sense of what the chimp permit inside this bundle is worth. Kyambura and Kalinzu permits are priced separately and the listing does not state which rate applies. Chimpanzees move fast and are heard before they are seen, so the hour looks different from the gorilla hour.
Fitness and Clothing
The listing asks for a moderate level of physical fitness and warns against booking for travelers with poor cardiovascular health. Gorges and forest trails are steep and muddy in any month. Pack the same kit as for gorillas: hiking boots, waterproof clothing and long sleeves.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
How Long Is the Drive Between Parks?
Driving dominates a five day Uganda safari, and the official figures explain why the itinerary looks tight.
The Published Figures
UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km of tarmac, roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram road to Buhoma, roughly 5 more hours, and recommends a 4WD. Kampala to Kisoro runs about 524 km, about 9 hours. Entebbe sits 40 km southwest of Kampala on a 42 km all-weather road.
For the parks this tour visits, UWA gives no single Kampala to Bwindi or park-to-park drive time, and five-day itineraries elsewhere quote legs such as Entebbe to Kibale at roughly 6-7 hours and Kibale to Bwindi at 6-8 hours. Treat all of these as day-shaped, not clock-shaped, and ask the operator for the daily schedule.
| Leg | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Kampala to Kabale | About 414 km, 6 hours | UWA |
| Kabale to Buhoma | About 120 km murram, 5 hours | UWA |
| Kampala to Kisoro | About 524 km, 9 hours | UWA |
| Entebbe to Kampala | 40 km | Uganda CAA |
| Entebbe to Kibale | Roughly 6-7 hours | Five-day itinerary pages |
| Kibale to Bwindi | Roughly 6-8 hours | Five-day itinerary pages |
How to Shorten the Road Time
UWA notes daily flights from Entebbe to the Kisoro and Kihihi airstrips, with the Kisoro flight at about 1 hour 10 minutes. This listing includes only road transport, so if flying appeals, ask the operator about flying one way. Starting from Kigali instead cuts the drive sharply, which is the whole argument behind the Bugoli 1-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali and the Antique Safari 3-Day Bwindi Trek from Kigali.
Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Civil Aviation Authority.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a gorilla safari cost in Uganda?
The Uganda gorilla permit alone costs $800 for foreign non-residents, so three day gorilla safaris with the permit included run from about $1,860, and this five day gorilla and chimpanzee trip is $2,863 per person. Compare the bundles on the Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking list.
Is five days enough for gorillas and chimps in Uganda?
Yes, provided the route does not overreach. Five days covers the Bwindi gorilla trek, chimpanzee tracking and a Queen Elizabeth game drive, as this tour does, though the first and last days are largely driving. See the full itinerary above.
What is the minimum age for gorilla trekking?
The minimum age is 15 years in Uganda under UWA rules and 15 in Rwanda under RDB rules, and that applies on this tour regardless of the listing's booking age bands. The rules sit on the UWA gorilla tracking page.
How long is the drive from Kampala to Bwindi?
UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km and 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram to Buhoma at roughly 5 more hours, so plan a full day each way. Details in How Long Is the Drive Between Parks?.
Is the gorilla permit included in this tour price?
Yes. The listing includes both the Uganda gorilla and chimpanzee permits in the $2,863 per person price, while many competing tours add the permit on top. The breakdown is in What the Price Covers.
Can I cancel this tour if my plans change?
No. The listing states all sales are final and no refund is available for cancellations, and UWA requires permits to be paid in full at booking. Read the terms again on the booking page before you pay.
Do I need a visa and vaccinations for Uganda?
Yes to both. Uganda requires an online visa at $50 with no visas on arrival, and the CDC says the yellow fever vaccine is required for all travelers aged 1 year or older. The details are in Before You Go.
Compare with
3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
Private three day Uganda gorilla safari with the permit, two nights lodging, meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride for $2600 per person.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dav Safaris
4-Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Wildlife Safari
A 4-day private Uganda safari pairing Bwindi gorilla trekking with Queen Elizabeth game drives and Lake Bunyonyi, $2,450 per person, permit status not stated.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Lulu safaris, uganda
Private 3 Day Gorilla Trekking Safari in Uganda
Private 3 day Uganda gorilla trek with Batwa visit and Equator stop at $1,900 per person, meals included, permit status not stated.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Native Africa Tours
Read Next
- Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Gorilla Trekking in Uganda Compared With Rwanda
Plan Bwindi in 2027: 4 sectors, treks of 2 to 7 hours, permits and how Uganda compares with Rwanda. See tours and book.
- Best Time to Visit Uganda for Gorilla Trekking
Plan the best time to visit Uganda in 2027. Two dry seasons, June to September and December to February, See the month table and book.
- Gorilla Habituation Experience in Uganda: Four Hours With a Gorilla Family
Four hours with a semi habituated gorilla family in Bwindi for $1,500, Compare it with Rwanda and Uganda treks and plan your 2027 trip.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure